pieces of me

Photo by:  Walter Babinski, My American Husband Photo by: Walter Babinski, My American Husband

“Silence is the language of God.  All else is poor translation.”  Rumi

If I could point to one single thing that has been my greatest guide, teacher, healer and solace in the past few years it would be developing a meditation practice.  For quite some time I had read about the benefits of meditation to overall physical and mental health and would think to myself “gosh I should really learn how to do that.”  Somehow it seemed like it must be really difficult.  Shouldn’t I have a guru?  And sitting in that lotus position for more than 3 minutes made me dead from the waist down, legs completely asleep.

But then life happened and things got pretty intense.  I had struggled with minor anxiety for many years, occasionally having bouts of panic attacks, but had always been able to muscle through them without any…

View original post 725 more words

